Parental airport returns and colleague’s Mexican (Japanese) goodbyes

This week has been a super busy one, mainly because I’m on leave next week soย had quite a bit of work to tick off my to-do list, then its Easter weekend and before you know it we’re in April! A quarter of the year gone! It’s hard to believe. Here are the past week’s highlights…

Saturday, 12 March 2016: Driftwood breakfast and parents airport pick-up

Coffee at Driftwood Cafe
We woke early and dropped the car off at the nearest car wash then trotted across to the Driftwood Cafe. I had this pleasing cup of coffee as part of my R25 breakfast.
Breakfast at Driftwood Cafe
Husband buttering toast to go with his bigger-than-mine breakfast.
Mum and dad's plane taxiing along the runway
We’d been tracking the parents’ planes through an app on Husband’s phone so timed our arrival at the airport pretty well. This was their flight from Joburg taxiing along the runway…
Watching plane disembark at Cape Town International Airport
We watched them disembark from the viewing deck before dashing down to the arrivals hall.
Sad dogs on couch
The doggies were very keen to see Granny and Grampa again, see their sad faces when I asked “Where’s Granny Grampa?”
Eyeball window display
Later that day we were at Tyger Valley Shopping Centre. I couldn’t help snapping a pic of this eye-catching window display at Identity.
Hot-air balloon mall display
Such a cute ‘hot-air balloon’. Husband snapped me sipping a McDonald’s caramel latte beside it. Yes that is Rey from Star Wars looking at it jealously over my shoulder and photobombing me.

Sunday, 13 March 2016: Breakfast at Rusty Oak Bistro

Rusty Oak Bistro buffet breakfast
We read up on the Rusty Oak Bistro at Ruslamere through Zomato and decided to try them for breakfast. Husband opted for the hot buffet – and promptly toppled the pepper grinder onto his first plateful, teehee.
Large cappuccino at Rusty Oak
My rather large cappuccino, just delicious
Waffles at Rusty Oak Bistro
I went for the waffle topped with berry and bacon bits – ahem, and got the double. And finished it all. Kept me full till we got to Mum’s for lupper that eve (note my fancy Roo shirt from the parents’ trip).
Heart fountains at Ruslamere
The pretty outdoor area at Ruslamere.
Raspberries and coffee icecream.
Much, much later, at Mum’s that eve we had raspberries with her homemade coffee icecream. Goodness me it was delicious. Washed down with a delightful pink wine.

Thursday, 17 March 2016: St Patrick’s Day work events and celebrations

Lightsabre lights in FCB building reception
I started my Thursday at an exclusive presentation at an agency walking distance from the office. Just love the multicoloured light-sabre type lights that hang from the reception area of the FCB/Hellocomputer building in Woodstock, and the little window near the ceiling. This picture does not do it justice.
FCB wall art Skrik vir niks
Walking to the lift I saw this interesting wall art – which I later found out was printed by Husband! Tis a very small world.
Coffee at FCB
There was time for a quick cup of coffee before the presentation began. Note my stripy pants did not match the stripy carpet.
Clouds over Lion's Head
Lots of pretty clouds about on my way to the bus stop after work that evening. There’s a definite chill in the air these days – the start of autumn so soon?
Guinness for St Patrick's Day
We were just too tired to head out anywhere after work for official celebrations, but Husband had a Guinness in St Paddy’s honour.

Friday, 18 March 2016: Fat Cactus farewell to Meg

Farewell Megan!
My colleague Megan (two down from me in this pic, she was in most of my pics from last year’s Loeries blog post) is jetting off to teach English in Japan in a few weeks, and as most people are on leave next week we had a brief farewell at the Fat Cactus across the road from the office today. I was sat at the ‘espresso milkshake’ end of the table ๐Ÿ™‚
Espresso shake at Fat Cactus
The Milkshake Queen strikes again! These are the espresso shakes in question. |I almost had another.

That’s all, folks! I’m going to use the next few days to switch off, reset and recharge my batteries. Hope you have a wonderful long weekend!

Blog signature

Leave a Reply

